NIH: Fogarty International Center NIH: Fogarty International Center
Advancing Science for Global Health
Advancing Science for Global Health
Home > News > Events, Conferences, Workshops and Observances > Fogarty- and NIH-related sessions at 2021 Consortium of Universities for Global Health (CUGH) annual meeting Print

COVID-19 is an emerging, rapidly evolving situation.

COVID-19 public health info from US CDC  |  COVID-19 research info from the US NIH  |  COVID-19 resources for global health researchers


Fogarty- and NIH-related sessions at 2021 Consortium of Universities for Global Health (CUGH) annual meeting

The Consortium of Universities for Global Health (CUGH) will hold the CUGH 2021 Virtual Conference March 12 - 14, 2021, with Virtual Satellite Sessions March 1 - 11, 2021. Representatives from Fogarty and NIH will participate in a variety of sessions on issues critical to global health research.

CUGH 2021 Virtual Satellite Sessions

Separate registration for each CUGH 2021 Virtual Satellite Session is required. Most are free.

March 2, 2021

March 4, 2021

March 5, 2021

March 8, 2021

March 10 - 11, 2021

CUGH 2021 Virtual Conference

View the full meeting agenda from CUGH.

Day 1: March 12, 2021

  • Keynote discussion with Anthony Fauci moderated by Michele Barry
    10:00 am EST / 9:00 am CST (Session: PL01)
  • NIH leaders discuss tackling NCDs as a global health priority
    12:30 pm EST / 11:30 am CST (Session CS05)
    Don’t miss this live session with audience Q and A as NIH leaders present their current and planned research activities to address the growing tide of NCDs in low-resource settings. Discover how the COVID-19 pandemic has impacted global health research priorities. Learn about cutting-edge interventions to improve maternal and child health. Hear about innovative approaches to alleviate depression, mental illness and other brain disorders that occur across the lifespan. Explore the latest in Artificial Intelligence, mobile solutions, point-of-care diagnostics and other solutions being studied in low- and middle-income countries. And find out about the new NIH initiative that will catalyze the field of data science in Africa, speeding new cures and treatments to those who need them most. Bring your questions and take advantage of this rare opportunity to interact with these distinguished NIH leaders.

    Moderator:
    Dr. Roger I. Glass, Director, the Fogarty International Center (FIC) and Associate Director of Global Health Research, NIH

    Panelists:
    Dr. Diana Bianchi, Director, the Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)
    Dr. Joshua Gordon, Director, National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)
    Dr. Bruce Tromberg, Director, National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering (NIBIB)
  • Training the next generation of global health researchers: the NIH-Fogarty Global Health Fellows Programs
    4:30 pm EST / 3:30 pm CST (Session CS11)
  • Gender and Power in COVID: Two Steps Forward or Two Steps Back?
    4:30 pm EST / 3:30 pm CST (Session CS16)

Day 2: March 13, 2021

  • Addressing Critical Gaps in Implementation Science and Hypertension Control in Low-and-Middle-Income Countries
    4:30 pm EST / 3:30 pm CST (Session CS27)

Day 3: March 14, 2021

  • The ESSENCE Mechanism for Review of Investments in Research Capacity Strengthening in Low- and Middle-Income Countries: Identifying and Addressing Critical Gaps, featuring Fogarty staff as a moderator and speakers
    2:00 pm EDT / 1:00 pm CDT (Session CS48)
  • Eye health as the new focus to achieve UN Sustainable Development Goals
    2:00 pm EDT / 1:00 pm CDT (Session CS46)

Updated March 1, 2021